Learn about our recent consolidation of five powerful locum brands into HCLT here!
This is some text inside of a div block.
This is some text inside of a div block.
September 28, 2020
March 8, 2023
Healthcare Professionals

Do you enjoy traveling and want to work in several states during your locum tenens career? The Interstate Medical Licensure compact lets doctors get more out of their license by allowing qualified physicians who wish to obtain a license in multiple states do so without the hassle of applying to each state. 

How does the IMLC help me?

The main benefit of the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact is that it expedites the process for multistate licensure. This makes it easier for physicians to participate in telemedicine, which has gained popularity among providers and patients since COVID-19. Not only does is allow more physicians to practice telemedicine, but the IMLC also makes it easier for physicians to accept locum tenens positions in over half the states in the US.

How can I participate in the IMLC?

One of the requirements to participate in the IMLC is you must be licensed in one of the states of principal license (SPL). The state of your principal license is usually your home state. Other requirements include:

  • You have a primary residence in that state
  • At least 25% of your practice occurs in that state
  • Your employer is located in the state
  • You list the state as your residence on federal income tax forms

There are also educational and credentialing requirements, as well as background check requirements that you must pass. You can find more information here

What states currently participate in the IMLC?

The IMLC currently exists in 27 states and 1 territory. Legislation to enact the IMLC has passed in two other states, Pennsylvania and Kentucky, as well as the District of Columbia. 

IMLC Member States that serve as a state of principal license (SPL):

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Guam
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
  • Washington

IMLC Member States that are not a state of principal license (SPL):

  • Georgia
  • Oklahoma
  • Vermont

States in which IMLC legislation has passed but implementation has been delayed:

  • Pennsylvania
  • Kentucky
  • District of Columbia

Legislation has been introduced to state legislatures:

  • Louisiana
  • Missouri
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina

If you are interested in learning more about the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, and how it can help you in your locum tenens journey, contact us.